Yaya's Cafe

The Mix of Stuff Blog

Eggshell Pinatas April 8, 2013

Filed under: Baby Shower,DIY,Food,Holiday,Updates — Yaya @ 4:51 PM
Tags: , , ,

Hello All,
Just wanted to give you a quick update on my baby shower plans for my buddy, A and a cute Easter picture.

Now, last time I showed you all my idea for “delivering advice”. This time I wanted to tell you about wish cards. I looked into buying some wish cards but at $1 or more a card it was too much. I also considered a small custom order.

When that was not feasible I googled free ones. They weren’t bad but none were in gender related colors. All were terribly neutral. In the end, I decided to take my chances with making my own.

The DIY approach worked and I made several designs which I then narrowed down to three. I don’t want to spoil the surprise so I will show you the designs another day. But all it takes is a printer and some cardstock to go from idea to reality. ^_^

As for Easter…
It was partly rained out but we still had a lot of fun. This year I took it one step farther by making Eggshell Pinatas. All I did was crack a few eggs on the bottom and lightly peel away the shell. Then I cleaned them out and filled them with candy. I used crepe paper to lightly wrap and seal the eggshell. Once it was done, I wrapped the rest of the egg and mixed them in with a bunch of decorated boiled eggs.

Since we crack the eggs on our head, I thought it would be fun to have a few mini pinatas. ^_^

Here are my beauties:

image

Enjoy! My son sure did.

image

Here is a better photo of the candy.
image

Thanks for stopping by.   ^_^

 

Leave a Reply

