Yaya's Cafe

The Mix of Stuff Blog

How to Deliver Advice March 1, 2013

Filed under: Baby Shower,DIY,Party,Updates — Yaya @ 7:00 AM
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This is by far my favorite idea for A’s baby shower. But before I share it with you, let me fill you in on my overall idea. You know, the theme of sorts of this soiree.

Imagine a quick fanfare, then me moshing like a dork before stating the obvious: Babies and …

Just kidding.

I wanted something cute and playful, so I decided to make the theme “Ruffles and Lace”.

Vague. I know. I heard that from my mom already but I think I can pull this frilly, cute, colorful and semi artsy idea off. The theme comes from a conversation I had with A. We were talking about the things we liked and wished we had or could do growing up.

I got to do a lot of the things I wanted growing up, so my list was short and mostly related to age restrictions.  A’s, on the other hand, dealt with the awkwardness of high school with just a dash of wishful thinking. In high school she wanted to wear the cute girly clothes and be trendy. Instead, she had her regular clothes and not much wiggle room for clothing related creativity.

Now, I know I am going on and on with what may seem pointless but I just want to make sure A knows that we love her, trendy or not, and that this party is all about her and her little muffin.

I want to create a cute and fun atmosphere with a Shabby Chic attitude. I think I am on the road to creating some awesome bits and pieces to make it memorable and fun. I am also going to use a mix of pink, yellow and purple for the main decorations.

Getting back to the title:  “How to Deliver Advice”

The idea popped into my head around Valentine’s Day when I saw the cute mailbox tins for Valentines. I thought, wouldn’t that be cute for A’s baby shower.  A keepsake full of wisdom that’s fun to play with *wink wink*.

I snatched up a mini mailbox and got to work on what to do with it. Since most people like to give the mom to be advice to live by, I figured she would enjoy something cute to put all those little cards in. I was against making a large display that would later be inconvenient and awkward so this was perfect for A.

She could keep it just about anywhere, close it or open it easily and it will be a constant reminder that we love her and her little muffin too.

Below, I added several pictures of the decorated mailbox. All I used was the mini Valentine’s Day tin mailbox, leftover ribbon and a glue gun. Keep in mind, that not only does adding ribbon or whatever else make it customizable, it also covers up any Valentine’s Day messages or characters.

You can find these in plain solid colors online. The only difference is that they will be pricey. Not so much the mailbox as the shipping.  I leave it to you to decide what to do on that one. LOL.

Part of the fun is decorating it anyway. LOL. With all the mini projects I am working on, I fell behind on this one but I think I finally made up for it by getting it done. ^_^

image

This is the fully decked out mailbox. I placed it on this tub for the photos so don’t mind the tub.

image

On this one, I added a load of ribbon to the open lid for fun. The mailbox itself only has ribbon on the outside.

image

Here is a better picture of the mailbox without the ribbon.

image

This last photo is an extreme close-up people like me who enjoy seeing the small details in everything.

Thank you for Reading!!

I hope this post brightens your day as much as it did mine. I also hope this post and my blog inspire you to have fun, be creative and enjoy life whenever you can. Have a Wonderful Day!

 

Leave a Reply

