Yaya's Cafe

The Mix of Stuff Blog

Cupcakes! August 6, 2012

Filed under: Birthday,Cake,Candy,Food,Party,recipe,Updates — Yaya @ 7:59 AM
Tags: , ,

For the kids I made some vanilla cupcakes and topped them with some basic buttercream. What really made them special and added just enough cuteness to them was worms!

Oh yes. You read that correctly. But let me just clarify: sour gummy worms.

image

I just baked the cupcakes. Let them cool and frosted them with a very thin coat of white frosting. Priming them by adding that thin coat of frosting definitely paid off. They were moist and delicious several days later.

The next thing I did was make the buttercream frosting. Once that was done I put it in the refrigerator for a few minutes while I prepped the rest. I grabbed 2 bowls and set up a topping station. To make the dirt I crushed some Oreos (about 6 to start). Any brown (chocolate) sandwich cookie will do. The worms were sour gummy worms but you can use any you like. Sweet gummy worms are just as good.

Once each topping was in its bowl I took out the frosting and let it come to room temperature. I added as much green as I needed to make it look like grass. Then I used an open star tip to ice the cupcakes. I quickly sprinkled some crushed Oreos on top and added a little worm.

Voila!

image

 

One Response to “Cupcakes!”

  1. Hello. magnificent job. I did not expect this. This is a great story. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

