Yaya's Cafe

The Mix of Stuff Blog

Holiday Cheer Contest! November 17, 2011

Hello All,

Currently, I am a stay at home mom with a great little boy who loves to share. That simple and spirited love of sharing and being friendly has inspired me to give back to someone in need of some Holiday Cheer! After thinking about it for a few days and visiting several make a wish like sites, I decided to take a personal interest in making a person, people, or a family happy. I realize everyone is going through tough times but some are struggling more than others. I am one of the lucky ones who is scraping by with a little extra that I am willing to share.

How it works:

1.  Nominate!

Leave a comment below or follow me on twitter @YalyVidal (https://twitter.com/#!/YalyVidal ) to nominate someone. Make sure to reply to @YalyVidal with your nomination on twitter using the #HolidayCheer or send me a message. The nominees can be a friend, a family, or yourself.

2.  Share!

In your comment share why you or someone you know needs some good old holiday cheer! Also include some of their interests and a little about who they are! For twitter followers the challenge lies in doing this in 140 characters (several messages are also fine just remember the #HolidayCheer).

3.  Vote!

Check out the comments or read my twitter feed on my homepage to vote for the person, people, or family you think needs the most cheer! You can post a comment or reply with your vote! You can also include the #HolidayCheer and reply to @YalyVidal with the persons name or twitter to vote.

The Rules:

  1. You can only vote for your nomination once.
  2. You can only make two separate nominations unless you email me and I approve a third nomination. My email is on the ABOUT page at https://yayasanime.wordpress.com/about/.
  3. The contest is only open to people in the U.S. living in one of the 48 contiguous states.
  4. The nominations are not guaranteed to win or be chosen.
  5. Remember to nominate someone who NEEDS some Holiday Cheer! Although all nominations are welcome, I would prefer nominees who NEED some Holiday help. Please keep this in mind when nominating.
  6. The votes will be counted in order to determine how many pieces of paper each of the nominees will receive for the final round where the name(s) will be picked out of a hat on December 10th 2011. Once the nominee is picked I will tweet their name and send the nominator a message.*

*NOTE: A nominee will have a better chance of winning if they get lots of votes so spread the word and get your friends to vote. This is your call to action: Anyone can vote!

PRIZES:

The prize(s) will sent directly to the person nominated along with a Holiday card. The prize is based on the interest(s) of the chosen winner(s). The prizes may be Christmas presents, Cards, Books, or Basic Necessities if the winner (nominee) chooses.

Contest Ends: Saturday, December 10th 2011 when a winner will be chosen.

THE LAST DAY TO VOTE OF NOMINATE SOMEONE IS: FRIDAY, DECEMBER 9TH 2011!

If you have any questions please ask and I will get back to you promptly!

Good Luck!!

Thank you for reading!

I WILL BE EXTENDING THE CONTEST UNTIL SATURDAY, DECEMBER 10TH 2011!

 

11 Responses to “Holiday Cheer Contest!”

  1. Megan Garcia Says:

    I am going to nominate my good friend Sarah Savickas. She is a working mom with five kids. Her youngest, a one year old little boy, was boy with a medical condition that has required numerous doctor visits and treatments and eventually will require surgery. The finances with their family is also a struggle and I know at Christmas time, every parent wants to spoil their child with gifts. For those with little money to spare, it’s a heartache and a burden for holidays to roll around. I know with Sarah, just her knowing that she has a friend on her side with kind words lifts her sprits. I love her family. She’s a great mother to five gorgeous children. I hate seeing her so upset especially around this time of year.

    • Yaya Says:

      Thank you for being the first to nominate someone. I just wanted to add that there may be more than one winner depending on how many entries I get!! Thanks again! ^_^

  2. Megan Garcia Says:

    No problem..I think it’s a great idea. Maybe next year I will be more financially stable and be able to do something just like this! Good for you, Yali!

  3. Yaya Says:

    There have been some issues logging in to Nominate people so I have several to add. I will just add them one by one so that if someone decides to vote they can just hit reply!

  4. Yaya Says:

    My first nominee is my dear friend Kat Fran who needs a little Cheer after a long year and a tough battle to start a family. I have known her for a long time and I know she deserves to know there is always someone who cares. There are so many people that love her and hope she continues to have a good recovery. *HUGS* I’m keeping my fingers crossed for her. A little Holiday Cheer would go a long way so I am nominating her!

  5. Yaya Says:

    My second nominee is Michelle Dysart. She and her children are in need of Help and Cheer this Holiday Season. This is Michelle’s story:

    Who is going to HELP a CHILD this Christmas? Are you?

    I wish for warm coats and warm hearts for my children this winter. I am a mother of 3. I was recently diagnosed with multiple sclerosis, and I am no longer able to work to make ends meet. We need help with warm clothes, to replace warn out shoes, and if its Gods will, a better Christmas this year. Last year Santa was too busy and forgot our house. I dont know what to have to tell them the same thing this time. They were extra good to make sure Santa had them on his special list. Its soo hard as a mother to see the disapointment on their faces Christmas morning when they run through the house praying excitedly that Santa came. I dont even want to get out of bed, its so heart braking. If you could find a way to help with anything at all it would be pure magic for these guys, thank you and God bless you for reading our story.

  6. Yaya Says:

    The third person I am nominating is Abigail Kennedy. Here is her story:

    Hi, My name is Abigail. I love my little brothers Nathanael, Dakota and Joseph. My parents and I are trying to make sure they have something to open for christmas. I had enough last year to make sure they had a good christmas but due to bills and my dad being unemployed it is a little harder this year. I dont want to ask for much so I’m asking that anyone that can please send christmas cards so they are guarunteed something to open up. They are not picky and just want to feel special for christmas. I wish I could get them the world but I can’t so I’m hoping this will make up for it. Thank you so so much and have a wonderful christmas.

  7. Yaya Says:

    The contest is now closed! Thank you for the entries and Nominations!! Hopefully, I can fix the log-in issue next time so several people can enter themselves or their nominees. I’m glad this contest will help people and make someone very happy!

    Now, it’s time to get things ready for the Hat!! Good luck to all our entrants!! I will post the winner later on tonight.* Keeping my Fingers Crossed for Tonight*


Leave a Reply

