Yaya's Cafe

The Mix of Stuff Blog

Trick or Treat? October 25, 2011

Lately, I have been reading all about doing something different for Halloween and the rest of the upcoming holidays. Everyone seems to agree that different is usually better.The thing they didn’t provide was ideas on how to be different and possibly better. The suggestions I read about range from hosting a party on a small tight budget to volunteering. Now, these ideas are all fine and good but not what I expected.

What about healthy treats and fun or inspiring ideas for Halloween?

Lots of healthy treats…  to make at home. Not what I need. What can I give kids when they come to my door on Halloween that won’t break the bank and cause diabetes? I know it sounds harsh. At the same time, I know it is absolutely necessary. This is especially true if you want your child to eat well and enjoy a variety of things. The challenge began a few days ago (with only a few days until Halloween).

First thing I did was come up with a list of Do’s and Don’t’s. Here is my list:

  • Do give out treats and tricks you would glad receive for you or your child.
  • Don’t force people to take them.
  • Do make it fun and exciting by turning a treat into a surprise.
  • Don’t over do it! Time and effort is always good but if you over do it, the whole thing becomes a burden.
  • Do buy any edible and healthy treats.
  • Don’t make your own treats!

*The reason I am adding this is because as a parent I am more likely to let my child eat store bought and sealed candy than I am to let him eat homemade candy. Not that I don’t like homemade treats, I’m just lesslikely to allow my child to just eat them. There is sometimes the awkward moment when the person handing out homemade treats stands at the door waiting for you to pick up an unsealed or packaged treat and eat it. Unless, I have known them for a long time I have a difficult time just eating whatever they offer me.

Trick or treating involves going door to door and getting candy from people in your neighborhood. Sometimes you know most of the people who live around you really well. Other times, you barely know their name. I choose what kinds of things my child can have based on my personal knowledge of where things come from or came from.

The best way to avoid awkward moments is to go to a community “Safe Night” event where only volunteers are allowed to make food and drinks. Usually these will be people everyone in the neighborhood knows.

After you make a list of Do’s and Don’t’s, Come up with a specific list of things that would be fun and acceptable for you to do.

My List Looks something like this:

Fun and Tasty Treats:

  • Granola Bars
  • Low Fat or Sugar Free Candy
  • Single serving packs of light butter popcorn
  • Low sodium and whole grain pretzels

Fun Tricks:

  • Give trick or treaters scary books
  • Small toys
  • Educational Toys
  • Mini Treat Bags (like birthday party favors)
  • Small scrolls with their fortunes and a small piece of candy

These are my ideas for Halloween. For Thanksgiving and Christmas some of these would work as stocking stuffers and fun things to do during get togethers.

The Final Plan:

Hand out granola bars and whole grain pretzels, educational card games, and books. To do this, I am gathering several materials.

Materials:

  1. Granola Bars  and Pretzels (Store Bought)
  2. Small books that I am donating and asking neighbors to donate (twice as nice if they are Halloween stories)
  3. Educational card games like Memory from the Dollar Store (Dollar Tree in my case)
  4. Halloween treat bags or wrapping paper (Opaque colors like black, orange, and purple work best).

To prepare the items decide what you want to do. In other words, what’s your gimmick?

Mine- Ring the doorbell and pick a mystery prize.

Do this I just put a granola bar or a bag of pretzels in each bag.Then I added a small book or an educational card game to each bag. Once this was done, I closed the bags and put them in a large box so that trick or treaters can pick a prize and hopefully have a memorable Halloween. This is also a good idea for a community event or a small Halloween Party.

I’ll add an update after Halloween to let you how it turned out. Good Luck!!

Thanks for Reading!!

Update: I had several Trick or Treaters comment on how fun it was to have a more involved interaction rather than a quick handout and a closed door. I had fun and made it fun for the kids. It was great. Only downside- it requires a little more than opening a bag of candy and pouring it in a bowl. That wasn’t a problem for me. What made it better was that my son decided to help. He made a small mess (he’s only 15 months) but he did it with good intentions and a loving heart!

Thanks again for reading!!

 

2 Responses to “Trick or Treat?”

  1. I was very pleased to seek out this net-site.I wanted to thank you on your time for this wonderful learn!! I undoubtedly having fun with each little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to visit new things you weblog post.


Leave a Reply

