Yaya's Cafe

The Mix of Stuff Blog

A Month and Two Days June 29, 2011

Filed under: Birthday,Cake,Candy,Food,Party,recipe — Yaya @ 5:43 PM

Only a month and two days or 33 days until my baby turns one. My handsome little man is going to be a year old. I am very excited and am thinking of several ideas for his first birthday party. One of my ideas was to throw him a big party with a mix of kids and adults. Why, such a party? The answer is simple, my birthday is four days later. Although this sounds really fun, I decided to go a different route.

I am going with a loosely set Sesame Street theme. Not sure how many kids will be there but I am hoping to make it lots of fun. The party will entail a lot of work but it will be worth it. Most of the kids there will be older so being able to do something fun and delicious is a plus.

Recently, I messed around with marshmallow fondant. It was fun and easy in the beginning. Then it got complicated. In the end, the result was two random cakes that couldn’t have been more girly. I think the pink is a dead giveaway as to how girly it was. Just check it out.

This cake was awesomely rainbowlicious. The reason: I filled the center with homemade butter cream and rainbow colored ultra moist goodness (colored white cake with a bit of flavoring- vanilla in this case). That alone made up for its overall pinkness. Well, you decide. Rainbow Cake: Yes or No?

Good rainbow or bad rainbow? I think it’s an awesome rainbow. But I figure I may as well use it. I am thinking of making a two tier rainbow cake with vanilla and chocolate cake. Yum! It is a lot of work but I couldn’t help myself. I wanted to try it. Now I need to make it better. *Keeping My Fingers Crossed*

I will also have various activities for the kids. They need something to do while the adults mingle. So of course, we have good old fashioned fun with pin the tail on the donkey. I did think of giving this a Sesame Street spin but that was a little overrated. Oh well, I am over it.

The party favors are a mix of fun and educational travel size toys. They are made up of flash cards and simple card games, as well as some little toys. For the fun part of the favors I am going to give them Mallow Pops to take home. How am I going to do this? Easily!

Mallow Pops

I am going to get some medium sized marshmallows, caramel, chocolate, and mini m&ms to decorate. You can use whatever you want to coat them. I like m&ms, crushed cookies, sprinkles, and small candy pieces. Anyway, let me get back to it.

What to do:

Step 1. Skewer 3-4 marshmallow on a small wooden skewer.

Step 2. Melt the caramel as directed on the package.

Step 3. Dip the skewers in the caramel and allow to cool.

I am thinking of completing the first three steps the night before. In order for this to work during a kids party, ask the other adults to help the small children and supervise in general.

Step 4. Melt the chocolate as directed on package.

Step 5. Dip the skewers in the melted chocolate.

Step 6. Coat in favorite topping.

Step 7. Allow to cool.

This won’t take long so be ready to give each child a piece of string or some ribbon and a small baggie or candy wrapper to put their Mallow Pop in. Then you can send them on their way. They will have a delicious treat and it will be a great way to end the party.

Games… Well, that is a topic for another day. Until then, backyard bowling sounds fun.

 

Leave a Reply

